Awards Presented - Whistler Congress - June 3 2015
Prix décernés - Congrès Whistler - 3 juin 2015
President's Prize
Prix du président
    Damon Matthews
... for his meritorious paper (co-authored with Caldeira) entitled “Stabilizing climate requires near-zero emissions” published in Geophysical Research Letters in 2008.

Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology
Le Prix Dr. Andrew Thomson en météorologie appliquée
    Diana Verseghy
... for her outstanding career-long contributions to develop a land-surface scheme for climate and weather models

François J. Saucier Prize in Applied Oceanography
Le prix François J. Saucier en océanographie appliquée
    Not awarded // Pas décerné

Neil J. Campbell Medal for Exceptional Volunteer Service
La Médaille Neil J. Campbell pour service bénévole exceptionnel
    Robert (Bob) Jones
... for his dedicated service as Webmaster of the CMOS website, which has become an important resource for CMOS affairs and information about meteorology and oceanography. Bob Jones also contributed greatly to recording the history of CMOS.

The Rube Hornstein Medal in Operational Meteorology
La Médaille Rube Hornstein en météorologie opérationnelle
    Malcolm (Mac) MacLeod
... for his leadership that enabled the growth of the private sector in meteorology in the maritime provinces.

J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography
La Médaille J.P. Tully en océanographie
    Ann Gargett
... for her pioneering research on the turbulence and microstructure in the oceans.

Tertia M.C. Hughes Memorial Graduate Student Prize
Le Prix Tertia M.C. Hughes pour étudiants diplômés
    Konstantinos Menelaou - McGill University
... for his excellent thesis entitled “On the origin of asymmetric dynamic processes and their relation to the structure and intensity change of hurricanes – a diagnostic study.”

    Andrew MacDougall - Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science- Switzerland
... for his excellent thesis entitled “Simulating the permafrost carbon feedback to climate change: feedback strength and carbon cycle consequences”

The Roger Daley Post-doctoral Publication Award  
Le Prix Roger Daley de publication post-doctorale
    Lindsay Renbaum-Wolf – University of British Columbia
... for her excellent co-authored paper entitled “Viscosity of α-pinene secondary organic material and implications for particle growth and reactivity” by Renbaum-Wolff, Grayson, Bateman, Kuwata, Selliers, Murray, Shilling, Martin, and Bertram in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA, 2013, 110(20); 8014-8019

    Frédéric Laliberté – Environment Canada
... for his excellent co-authored paper entitled “Constrained work output of ther moist atmospheric heat engine in a warming climate” by Laliberté, Zika, Mudryk, Kushner, Kjellsson and Döös in Science, 347, 540-543

For recipients of past years, go to our archives.
Pour voir les récipiendaires des années précédantes, visitez nos archives.

Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
12W108 - 200 Kent Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0E6



Join CMOS | Member Login | Français |